A Hidden Gem on the Ancient Hill of Armagh – Online Talk

No 5 Vicar’s Hill, the former Armagh Provincial and Diocesan Registry, is celebrating its 250th anniversary this year.  Registry Officer Dr Stephen Day will give an online talk, A Hidden Gem on the Ancient Hill of Armagh, about No 5 on Tuesday 5 April 2022 at 7.30pm.

To book a place for Stephen’s online talk, please go to the ArtTickets website   For further information, please e-mail admin@armaghrobinsonlibrary.co.uk or telephone 028 37523142.

Exterior No 5 Vicars' Hill. A Hidden Gem on the Ancient Hill of Armagh
No 5

Founded in 1772, a year after the nearby Armagh Robinson Library and located just opposite the west door of Saint Patrick’s Church of Ireland Cathedral, it is a small, hidden gem of a building.  

Outside, its appearance blends in perfectly with the other buildings of this pretty terrace of George II and George III houses.  However, inside, the building consists mainly of two large domed rooms.  These were ideal for the storing and safekeeping of important documents, including the valuable medieval Registers which Archbishop Robinson had deposited there in the late 18th century. The building also facilitated the diocesan and metropolitan administration encouraged by the Archbishop and his successors.  

This Grade A listed building was restored and opened to the public in 2011 and the two rooms now contain treasures which Archbishops Robinson and Beresford donated to the Library, as well as many other historical and religious exhibits which assist in the understanding of the rich history of Armagh and the surrounding area.

Stephen was appointed to the post of Registry Officer in 2010 to promote both the building and contents of No 5 and he looks forward to letting more people know more of this deceptively spacious building.