ARMAGH’S GEORGIAN BUILDINGS OPEN FOR FAMOUS GEORGIAN DAY
Armagh’s famous Georgian Day takes place in the city on Saturday, November 26, from 10.00am to 6.00pm and many events will mark the beginning of the Christmas season.
To add to the overall atmosphere, many Georgian buildings will open their doors to the public. These will include Armagh Gaol, Armagh Observatory, Armagh Public Library (the oldest library in the north of Ireland) and No 5 Vicars’ Hill (the former Registry). The Library and No 5 are located on the ancient Hill of Armagh adjacent to the Church of Ireland Cathedral and visitors can enjoy spectacular views of Armagh, its Georgian buildings and the surrounding countryside from the Cathedral grounds.
No 5 is deserving of special mention. This 1772 Grade A listed building has been fully restored and was formally opened by the Minister of Enterprise, Trade and Investment earlier this year. Ideal for visits, in good weather or bad, it has a fascinating interior which includes information on the history and development of ‘the Hill’ and of Armagh itself. A three dimensional model in one of the old Registry rooms provides the visitor with a bird’s eye view of old Armagh (1810) and the location of its famous early Georgian buildings.
No 5 also features displays of collections and curiosities which can be explored through interactive facilities. It is a ‘must see’ attraction and contains items and activities that appeal to all ages. There is also an opportunity to purchase small presents for Christmas – stocking fillers for children and collectables and curiosities for older family members and friends. There will be living history characters in the vicinity and at the premises on the day.
Georgian Armagh in the festive season – a wonderful experience for all the family.